Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

simple way to combine external pack libraries?

18 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I have Adrian Charras' free piano peformance X7L files and would simply like to combine them together in one library. These are not a huge amount of Performances, probably just about 20 or so.

I am not connecting the MODX+ to my Mac, so I would like to do this only on the MODX without the John Melas editor.

I have been researching but cannot confirm the best way to do this. I did see Blake's video that showed how to use Libary Import to first get an individual Performance from a Library into the User area so that all data is brought in. Then what? Can a Library be created of just these 20 performances? Or does the whole User section have to convert to a Library?

thank you (novice here, on a slow learning curve!)

Rich

Posted : 19/12/2022 12:25 am
Jason
Illustrious Member

A Library can be created from your entire User bank. So the trick is getting your User Bank to reflect what you want to see in your Library. Then create a library ([UTILITY], Content->Save and select Library). You'll need a recognized USB flash stick in the TO DEVICE port so you can save this. Once created, you can use Content->Load to place the newly created X8L file (Library file) into a Library slot. And last you can either initialize your User Bank only (clear it out) or restore a backup of your User Bank before you started this process.

The first step of the process usually entails saving up your user bank so you don't lose anything. Then initialize (erase) your User bank. Then Library Import your "keepers" into the User bank from the Library. The user bank you created to begin with can be used to later restore your original User bank contents.

Posted : 19/12/2022 12:43 am
Topic starter

Jason,

I believe I understand your procedure there. To summarize, correct me if I am wrong: