Notifications
Clear all

MOXF8 and Cubase AI8 Port problems

18 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 Scot
Topic starter

Have been on a road to nowhere for over a year now, trying to get the simple set up between the MOXF8 and Cubase AI (now version 8) to behave to spec. Port routing is constantly wrong, meaning, variously, that hitting keys on the MOXF* triggers the random opening of windows (keyboard shortcuts wrongly accessed I'm guessing), or transport doesn't operate in DAW Remote mode, or even that no midi is received at Cubase. I have paid a Cubase tutor to get a set up happening and even he had to call local Yamaha support, who couldn't diagnose the problem. I have done the step by step set up process per the manual ad nauseum and double checked against other information shared on this site. I'm a professional composer with approaching deadlines and I'm beginning to think I need to exit Yamaha and Cubase and buy something from another manufacturer.

After decades of the concept of "plug and play", I find it unbelievable in 2016 that pieces of hardware and software, owned by the same company and designed to be used together, can be so difficult to operate thusly.

Posted : 08/04/2016 1:35 am
Bad Mister

Port routing is constantly wrong, meaning, variously, that hitting keys on the MOXF* triggers the random opening of windows

That is specifically caused by improperly setting the Ports. Let's fix that first since you mention it first.
Go to DEVICES > DEVICE SETUP > MIDI > MIDI PORT SETUP > in the last column, the one labeled "IN ALL MIDI INPUTS" unmark all except MOXF port 1.

Macintosh:

Windows:

You definitely (wrongly) have Port 2 marked, that specifically is the port for REMOTE CONTROL and is the cause of random window openings. The "IN ALL MIDI INPUTS" refers to the device Ports that you want to input data to Midi Tracks... And that is ONLY MOXF Port 1 (and maybe port 3 if you have a second controller).