Actions GHS GHE GH3 natural Wood

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Luigi Maria
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Hi,
I own a Yamaha P-35 for simple gigs and to control my moxf6 for more complex gigs.
I like it for its built in speaker for playing at weddings and other simple contexts.
Now I am unsitysfied with its GHS action and I'd like to buy a new digital piano.
I've tried a Kawai MP7 but i was unsatisfied too (and it was too heavy).
It's better to come back to my favourite brand of all my life: YAMAHA!
But before spend money I'd like to see clearly informations about actions.
Sometime in the specifications Yamaha only write "Graded hammer" without explain the differences between the three different kinds of GH.
On these page I've found more info:
Yamaha actions
(despite I don't agree with the sentence: "GHS is piano teachers recommend for building proper technique" I am a teacher and I believe that learning to play on that action is like learning playing football with a plastic ball).
But still these information aren't complete for me.
I'd like to know: has the p255 the top quality action with built in speakers?
Which action is mounted on CP33?
Which on Motif XF 8?
Thank you

Posted : 23/12/2015 10:03 pm
Bad Mister

Hi Luigi Maria,

Action and feel is all very personal. In general, the more it costs the better the action - (you get what you pay for) - but if you want to "over think" it... Here are some details that will help:

GHS is the entry into Graded Hammer actions that use actual weighting of the keys. "S" for standard. And this action is recommended by teachers over a synth key action as found on your typical spring action synthesizer. (Obviously, not by every teacher! But every teacher would insist , even you, on a weighted action versus a non-weighted action, and that is the point, n'est pas?) this action is found on the DGX650, the P-series pianos, (the P255 is GHS w/synthetic ivory key tops.