Notifications
Clear all

A way to detune experience

15 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Reputable Member
Topic starter

I'm not experienced. I found and use FX Change Pitch.
OB Saw waveform is good detunes, OK!
But when I try use Fat Saw St then I hear that it loose volume and lost an energy. What's happened?
I try modulate over modulated waveform? ๐Ÿ™‚
I like Fat Saw St sound. Is it possible add more tune to detuned waves?

Posted : 18/10/2022 2:11 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

If you add VCM Mini Booster after the Pitch Change effect - you can recover the volume lost using Pitch Change.

Pitch Change(InsA)-->VCM Mini Booster(InsB)-->Part output

Posted : 18/10/2022 3:39 pm
Reputable Member
Topic starter

Thanks!

Posted : 18/10/2022 4:26 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

I tried boosting prior to the pitch change effect - it's easy to switch using InsB->InsA routing instead of InsA->InsB. The result was that the Pitch Change effect now at the end of the chain diminished the volume and "sizzle" of the boosted signal. Ultimately, despite some thought that this (placing boost prior to pitch change) would be a way to go, I recommended boosting at the end of the signal chain.

Although I don't have the OP's details on what exactly they have setup - I did hear what was complained about by doing the following:

1) Recalling the "Init Normal (AWM2)" preset. This is a single-Part (Part 1)
2) Turned off Reverb Send (default 15ish - rolled it down to 0) for Part 1 -- Aside: why the default patch doesn't have velocity sensitivity (particularly for the chosen piano waveform) but does have reverb is one of those mysteries.
3) Replaced the piano element (Part 1 element 1, the only active one) with the waveform supplied by the OP (Fat Saw St)
4) Edited Part 1's InsA effect to change from Thru (no effect) to the Pitch Change effect. Played with pitch #1, #2 fine detuning and wet/dry. Was able to hear the unwanted behavior mentioned by toggling on/off the effect (InsA altogether).