Notifications
Clear all

Assign keyboard control?

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi All,

Pretty much a noob here…..I am trying to layer sounds on the fly. For example, the brass interlude part in radar love begins with F#2, F#3, F#4. After 2 stanzas it changes the F#4 to A4 and adds A5 (Harmony with an octave). If I setup 2 parts in a new performance named Radar Brass, I can control when the A5 comes on by turning the keyboard control on. 
What I can do so far is play the 2 low parts, F#2 and 3 in one split. I’d like to be able to take the upper split, play the F#4 part, the. When it goes to harmony, easily add in the octave above…like a assignable button or foot switch? 

Thanks in advance!

Posted : 13/05/2024 1:41 am
Jason
Illustrious Member

I would setup multiple Parts that when used in different combinations achieve all of the desired layering.   Then use scenes to combine which Parts are layered and use keyboard control as the means to select layered Parts.

In some instances I would wish we could set note range with scenes and note shifts (true note shifts that do not pitch stretch) but these are not available.  Therefore I typically "burn" Parts to accomplish complex layering and splits that move.

Posted : 13/05/2024 3:39 pm
Topic starter

I'll give that a shot - thanks. 

Posted : 13/05/2024 9:08 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

It's difficult to convey everything in a message (I didn't catch everything you were throwing about your goals) -- so maybe this example won't apply.  However, hopefully it will have something you can take to apply to what you're trying to do.