Notifications
Clear all

MOD 2.0 Sequencer

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi Everyone.

I am new to this MODX world, and was excited to find out that yamaha had integrated a sequence recorder. I quickly ran to pick one up, but it has been a hard thing to understand, the sequencer that is. The problem I am having is even creating a new project from scratch! Like, where do you even begin? Upon selecting an init FM performance, I want to start adding parts and saving as I go, but it has been a hassle nonetheless. I want to stay on my current pattern, which I renamed, but it keeps adding a new pattern as I go (renaming them as "New Pattern XX." When going back to the pattern I made, all of my data is gone! Where the heck did it go?!! Also, when recording on to track #3, the rest of my tracks become erased (even if I am not recording on to those tracks; without the keyboard icon set to "on" on those tracks). I've asked the youtube community for help, but have not received any help. Does anyone understand this sequence recorder? If so, please help. I'd like to get some sketches done at home before taking projects to the studio. Thanks in advance!

Posted : 20/11/2019 4:36 pm
Member Admin

Lately, Yamaha sucks at software, the "Pattern Sequencer" is software.

The below is the most important screen in the “Pattern Sequencer”.

Take a good, long look at this, it will correctly set your expectations and begin you on the path to understanding what Yamaha has created and, much more importantly, what they have NOT created.

You’re not fully understanding the horrors of that screen, yet.

What’s missing from it is also highly instructive.

Notice there is no indication of the length of the Scenes. That’s the single most important piece of information, absolutely required, when using this, and it’s not here. Second most important, the number of Scenes with content (some might be empty) is also missing.