Notifications
Clear all

Saving a Performance

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
 Bill
Topic starter

This is probably a simple question. I'm new to the Yamaha MODX. I'm bringing up a performance. I'm adding a part to it. I then save it as a live set. My understanding which may be wrong, is the changes to that live set should be saved but if I go to another live set and back or turn the keyboard of and on, the saved live set reverts back to the default setting. In other words it drops the part I added. Is this correct?

Posted : 22/01/2021 3:36 pm
Bad Mister

This is probably a simple question. I'm new to the Yamaha MODX. I'm bringing up a performance. I'm adding a part to it. I then save it as a live set. My understanding which may be wrong, is the changes to that live set should be saved but if I go to another live set and back or turn the keyboard of and on, the saved live set reverts back to the default setting. In other words it drops the part I added. Is this correct?

What it does and how it behaves will depend your your instrument’s settings.

Most folks set their instruments so that when they STORE a Performance to the User Bank or when they register a Performance to a User LIVE SET slot, what they STORE and register to the Live Set area will remain in memory.

However, there are settings (typically only used when the MODX is on display at Trade Shows or in retail stores, where they would rather not leave the internal memory open to just anyone coming along to overwrite. To prevent changes they may set the instrument so that the internal data cannot be changed — it re-initializes itself when next you power up.

But YOU would have to make these changes to your instrument’s UTILITY settings:
Press [UTILITY] > touch “Settings” > “Advanced”

Init On Boot (Initialize User Data on Boot-up)
Determines whether the User Data is initialized (On) or not (Off) when the power of the instrument is turned on.
Settings: Off, On ______________

You want to have this set to OFF.