Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Transpose Display

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

MODX7 purchased a few weeks ago. LOVE IT! I've read through MANY Montage and MODX forums looking for answer and found some discussions but no definitive answer...so here's question:

When I temporarily transpose the keyboard (globally, not note shift) to help with rough voice days or to match a recorded version of a song for practice, I can't see anywhere on the display that tells me how many semitones it is transposed to. I do see the quick "peek a boo" that comes down while making the shifts, but it goes away and then nothing on display. There seems to be room on the display at the top but I'm not an engineer so it may be too crowded already? Any plans for this? TIA!

Posted : 14/09/2019 11:51 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

Better indications of transpose have been asked for. Some of us have been "bitten" live using transpose and coming back to the next set with a big keyboard intro that starts in the wrong key.

Check out this menu:

[UTILITY] "Settings" -> "Sound". And look at the "Transpose" parameter under the "Keyboard" category. MODX reference manual A0 page 187-188.

Posted : 15/09/2019 8:46 am
Bad Mister

Current situation is nothing on the HOME screen alerts you that the Keyboard has been Transposed (by Semitones). The glowing button indicates when the Octave has been changed and by how far (speed of flashes), but the semitones of the Transpose Offset is unfortunately not indicated on the HOME screen.

What you can do now
You will have to either hear that it is Transposed, or refer to the [UTILITY] screen, or press the [SHIFT] button and observe the OCT -/+ button (if the Oct+ button lights your Instrument is Transposed above normal; if the Oct- button lights your Instrument is a Transposed below normal). Press [SHIFT] + both [OCT] buttons to quickly reset the Transpose by Semitone to normal.

Extra Credit: