Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

A Complete disregard for stand alone basic recording. This is not even basic its primitive. it is the equivalent of buying a new car you cant drive !

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
 sean
Topic starter

I am confused. I am a workstation writer for years and very disappointed on the limitations of the inboard sequencer of the Montage . What am I missing ? I cant select tracks to record / playback like I can on the Fantom and Motif . It is all or nothing for playback / record sequencing. How can i use this as a basic sequencer recording single midi channels and playback single tracks without reverting to cubase . I have been using Fantom/ Motif for years and wow it blew me away the absolute lack of any inboard sequencing ( Come on we could not at least add the basics of Motif sequence in here ? ) Dude ....Really ? For old schoolers it is the equivalent of buying a new car you cant drive ?????? WAD ???? PLease Help ! debating on returning this to the store or not ... Sorry this is just not what modern units should bring to the table.... A Complete disregard for stand alone basic recording. This is not even basic its primitive. The unit is amazing !!!!!!!......... yet wow I feel like returning the keys to the lot because yamaha forgot the old schoolers . What am I missing for basic channel recording/ Playback. I do not even see a midi or track select beyond turning the track on and off.

Posted : 22/07/2016 12:54 pm
Eminent Member

Montage is a synth, not a Workstation 😀

Posted : 22/07/2016 2:07 pm
 Phil
Eminent Member

The montage does not have a sequencer in the sense that people have been used to in for example the motif rather it has a direct recorder the function of which seems to be to record all takes place in a performance - arps super knob mc etc. There has been a few threads discussing this - however it can be used in a track by track scenario. The following from a previous thread clarifies this: