Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

A Proposed Successor to the Montage - The Yamaha Modular System

20 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member

I believe MIDI-CI would require all devices to be running MIDI 2.0 for that to happen, and even then the integration as you suspect would not be very elegant. I am talking about an effort Yamaha could do to their own products, even with the current implementation. They have the data lists, it would be just a matter of storing them in their new products and for the user to enable them separately in a menu - based on the equipment they have. Sounds would be listed in existing categories and pre-mapped to available controls, maybe phrases can be accessed as well; so it's modular in a way, and I would suspect it would imbold people to get more yamaha products - old and new.

Posted : 18/10/2019 7:48 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

With a new industry standard to cover this feature - I'm not a proponent of making a new snowflake to arrive at the same place. I'd rather see the work already started make its way to customers which will expedite the process where more gear can "talk" to each other. Software like Camelot, JM Tools, Cubase would benefit greatly. Some of those pieces of the pie may have longer lead times and are important to adoption.

Analogy: we "need"/want to start agreeing the "Hayes" modem commands are the best some day so we don't have to keep writing one-off terminal software for each modem to do the same thing.

Posted : 18/10/2019 8:12 pm
Eminent Member

With a new industry standard to cover this feature - I'm not a proponent of making a new snowflake to arrive at the same place