Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Backing up using the 'BACK UP FILE' (.X7A)

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi there..I went through some discussions and had a few doubts still..Here's what I'm looking for.I'm a travelling musician and there would be times when I'll be getting a Montage hired by some backline companies..I would like to load everything that my Montage has on the one I get from the backline..
I believe the 'BACK UP FILE' feature does the job..But wanted to confirm in addition to everything in the 'USER' area will it also load all the following-

1.My third party Libraries (along with their locations in the right order in the respective 8 library locations)

2.My 'USER LIVE SETS' with the right sounds (again as per the order in my original keyboard)

3.Load back any additional Audio Samples that my Montage has..

I read somewhere that the 'BACK UP FILE' feature that got added in ver.1.50 does a total back up of the keyboard..Please let me know if I'm missing out on anything.

Thank you for your time and patience..

Posted : 16/06/2017 8:49 am
Jason
Illustrious Member

From the version 1.51 new features release notes:

New Functions in MONTAGE Version 1.50

You can now save/load backup files in which the entire User Memory data (including Songs and Libraries) is stored.

Store/Save
Operation [UTILITY] -> [Contents] -> [Store / Save]
Backup File -- .X7A Data that is stored to the User Memory can be saved to USB flash memory.
A backup file includes all User data, Library data, and Song data.

After upgrading to firmware level 1.51, you can create an X7A which will take a carbon copy of your Montage and stick it into a file. Place this X7A on a USB stick to carry with you. Also carry with you a second USB stick with the latest Montage firmware (v1.51 currently). This allows for you to update a backline Montage if it is not to a sufficient firmware level to load the X7A.