Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

FMX Examples

2 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

If these upload correctly, these are a few patches (with some variations) I made this a.m. Granted, these use some chorusing and other effects heavily, but I think even with effects off these are some decent sounds tweaked out in about 30 min or so apiece.. If anyone is interested, I will explain in general terms how I made them and my general philosophy for making sounds. Enjoy!

Attached files

Montage_FMX.zip (95.2 KB) 

Posted : 18/10/2016 7:38 pm
Topic starter

Chris,
Thanks for the kind words. I have had some experience programming the old DX7, and I learned a lot from taking apart the factory sounds, as well as reading some out of Massey's Complete DX7 (but that was over 20 years ago, so I am dating myself). That was back in college, and we had three instruments: DX7IIFD, Oberheim Rack, and Roland MT32 (a poor man's D50). It was a good lesson in learning synthesis from the 3 popular synthesis technologies at the time, FM synthesis, Analog, and LA (linear arithmetic synthesis). Part of my philosophy of programming comes from the LA synthesis side - partials. I'll explain more in a minute.

To answer your questions:
1. On the brass example, some of the fine tuning I just played around with (not completely random, but to my preference). Try not to look to deeply into that part of the example. This is why: I used some fixed frequencies to enhance the metallic part of the tone. Fixed frequencies can be a difficult concept to wrap your head around, but they can be helpful for some specific parts of sounds besides sound effects.

2. On the ADSR - first think about generally what your sound is supposed to do (the amplitude part). Is it a sharp attack (low attack numbers) or is it a softer attack (strings, pad, etc.; higher attack numbers). This applies to the Carrier (bottom operator)