Notifications
Clear all

Generative tips

9 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello,

Has anyone created any generative patches on your Montage?

Trying to create some generative ambient drone soundscapes that evolve over time.

Any tips or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Posted : 25/09/2017 1:38 am
Jason
Illustrious Member

Not sure if this is the sort of thing you're after.

https://clyp.it/sns3fe0x

All of this audio has no keyboard intervention from start to finish and is just a few "random" things affecting each other to change pitch of a sine wave.

Posted : 25/09/2017 5:52 am
Topic starter

Nice!

Yes, that is the concept of what I am looking to do. I want to play a chord and have it evolve over time by having different things modulated.

I am new and still learning this beast but is it possible to modulate modulators?

I am new to FM so still experimenting and reading.

How deep is the Montage modulation matrix?

Thanks.

Posted : 25/09/2017 4:25 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

From what I can tell (not having experience with the genre / concept in my own musical expression) - generative music is similar to 12-tone in concept. 12-tone music says that you have 12 different unique pitches (A, Bb, B, C, Db, D, Eb, E, F, Gb, G, Ab) - so come up with a composition that plays all 12 tones without repeating a tone within the sequence of 12-tones. Regenerative music says you have 127 "steps" of MIDI - so for whatever parameter you are trying to target (like note pitch, resonance, cutoff, etc) - to cycle through all 127 values without repeating any values.

Obviously a ramp from 0 to 127 would satisfy this - but the general idea is more along the lines that there is a more random order. Although 12-tone music would be satisfied with a chromatic scale as well - it's not the most "interesting" of results.