Notifications
Clear all

How To Send Prg Ch Messages Over MIDI But Not Note Data

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
 Doug
Topic starter

Hi. Thanks in advance for any assistance you can give me.

What I'd like to do is have the Montage send program changes but *not* note on data to an external keyboard, a Korg Kronos. I've been unable to find a MIDI filter switch on the Kronos to turn off incoming note on data. I've also been unable to accomplish this using a "dummy" part in a performance to send the data on any channel.

The Korg wants to see incoming program changes for entire combinations (think Performances) on it's global MIDI channel, but that's also the channel it uses for local keyboard note on as well. I can't filter incoming note on data on the Kronos either, so it's either turning off outgoing note on data from the Montage or simply living with the situation.

BTW, I have a degree in computer engineering, so I'm really good at figuring things out most of the time. I'm also good at following instructions. 😉

I'm also a huge fan of the Montage. It may not have quite the same feature set as the Motif, but it's been a great board for live work. The Kronos is great, but it's touchscreen is very finicky and requires very fine touch, to the point where I usually try to use a stylus. Not really practical playing live. The Montage might take a little work to figure out how to get something done, but it's workflow is so easy that it's become my go-to board for quick layers and zones in rehearsal and unscheduled sound selection live.