Notifications
Clear all

Missing notes via USB midi on recording in MultiGM mode

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
 Alan
Topic starter

Hi guys, I have had a bit of a read round and trawl through these forums and others seem to be having some similar issues however not exactly or so I can make out 🙂

Please bear in mind I am a Montage noob as I only got my Montage 7 on Wednesday.

My setup consists of the following:
Montage 7 (I want this to work as the master keyboard). V1.51.1
Korg M50
Roland Integra 7
Roland D110 (I don't know why I still have this but it's there and works perfectly).

DAW: Windows 10 with intel i5, 16gb ram running Cubase 9.0.30 64bit
I/0: Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 with Focusrite Octepre Dynamic
Desk Allen & Heath Zed 428

I have had various issues which from reading posts here and there I have sorted out all but 2 which now has me stumped!

Issue 1: (main issue).
When I play forcefully as far as I can make out all notes are being played and I can hear them. As soon as I play normally as you would I get missing notes roughly about every 5 to 10 notes 1 gets missed. It is very reminiscent of having note drop out but this shouldn't be happening as I am only playing 1 sound (CFX + FM EP patch) and playing about 5 or 6 notes at any given time. I have tried various other patches and it does it on all.

Issue 2: When I use the Imperial Piano when I play forcefully there is no sound, there is midi activity but no actual sound out of the Montage. If I turn Local on there is sound however no double triggering when playing forcefully. I have been into the edit section and the velocity on the part is set from 0-127 (I've checked this about 50 times).

I have also noticed that if you go into performance mode when there is double triggering (local is turned off)????

On Cubase Ideally I would like to use the Focusrite ASIO driver as I like to record through my A&H desk as I have far more control over the sound using the outboard effects and racks I have in my studio.