Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Montage how to save a library from selected user sounds and/or performances?

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello,
I have lot of sounds in my user space in my Montage 8.
I want to make a library containing some of it, not all, and save it on a USB stick.
Same question but with performances categories.
I'm sorry, I'm new with the Montage, my last Yamaha instruments were a TX81Z and, of course, a DX7!
Thanks for your help.
Best regards,
François

Posted : 03/05/2019 1:15 pm
Bad Mister

Welcome back Francois,

A MONTAGE Library File is made by first assembling, in the User Bank, all the data you wish to be in that Library.
A Library File is created by going to [UTILITY] > “Contents” > “Save/Store” > Set the “Contents Type” = Library File

This File will carry the extension .X7L. This means you can now permanently install this data to one of eight Library locations in your MONTAGE. These Library locations make this data impervious to destruction. It is “burned” into Flash memory such that you would have to manually DELETE it, or Initialize All Data in your MONTAGE.

LIBRARY locations differ from User locations, because the User Bank locations are overwritten each time you load something to the User Bank. Don’t panic, you will always have the file to reload it — if you are smart about knowing it is imperative to STORE your custom work to the User Bank, and then SAVE a User File .X7U, to keep a copy of that work.