NEW TO MONTAGE FROM XF's

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I’m new to synths (from before 2011).
Composer of many decades.
Do not play out, though I miss that energy the live stage offers. 😉

My questions are pre-purchase of Montage...And will be one question post to create this thread...And are open to any/all ex-Motif XF songwriters/vocalists who are considering why they should, or shouldn’t wait to see what that crazy company might do next. 😀
(I fell into the hype of REFACE! briefly, before a purchase, so I’m trying to learn from what listening too close to Market/Industry Research Analysts can cause!) 😮

I have been using KSM44a Shure’s and Senn's e965’s w/phantom power connected into A/D, set to line/stereo successfully with XF thru FW16e into Mac current OS running Cubase 9.
Question: can this be done or something similar on Montage.
Note: I did not use XF’s Sampler function for vocals, as I often found no more of the 16 available tracks for lead and several backup human voice.
I only ran vocals thru XF into Mac/Cubase. Vocal processing done in Cubase.

Thanks in advance.

Posted : 08/07/2017 9:32 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

Assuming you power the MICs with something external as you must have had to do with the XF - this works.

Montage can route A/D inputs (stereo) to any pair of USB channels (15 pairs - 1&2 or 3&4 or 5&6 ... through 29&30) for audio processing in Cubase.

There are slight changes to add some possibilities of utilizing the A/D input for internal "effects" (side chain, envelope follower) - these are kind of additional "tools" (not something you were using before or mentioned wanting - but just tossing out there what new A/D features Montage brings to the table).

The basics of the input ports as unbalanced stereo pairs and being able to route to digital I/O to the PC are feature bullets which remain the same as the XF in terms of high-level capabilities.