Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

New to Montage, questions about setup

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I have been using the Motif ES8 in a coverband and I have been playing professional since 2009, and now it's time to upgrade the keyboard.

I have ordered a Yamaha Montage 7, and I would like to get answers to some of my questions so I will get started easier.

#1 I have been using Performance mode on my Motif ES to make layers and splits. Is it the same on the Montage? Or what mode do you recommend to make splits and layers?

#2 How many splits/layers is it possible to do at the same time?

#3 Is it possible to connect a MIDI or USB-keyboard as a second keyboard to the Montage and play sounds from the Montage? Just to extend the Montage 7 keyboard. And what keyboard/brand would you recommend?

#4 I would like to load samples, like vocals samples and stuff. Is it possible and how do I do that? And does that affect the number of possible splits/layers?

#5 How would you recommend that I set up my sounds with levels and so on, should I clear all banks and start from scratch and how should I set up the levels? On my motif I put the levels too high so when I needed to make a solo-level it was already max so I had to boost the master fader.

#6 Is there any good preset sounds for covermusic out there, like Final Countdown for example?
And regular sounds like nice piano/pads and so on...

#7 Can you help me get the organ sound like the swedish band "Gyllene Tider"? Think it's some kind of farfisa organ.

Thanks

Posted : 06/03/2017 4:06 pm
Bad Mister

Congratulations on your new Montage... take your time. There are plenty of articles and tutorials to get you oriented:
Montage: Getting Started

#1 I have been using Performance mode on my Motif ES to make layers and splits. Is it the same on the Montage? Or what mode do you recommend to make splits and layers?

The Montage has but one mode, Performance. So you will use that for your splits and layers.