Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Newbie setting up Voicelive with Montage8

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Please bear with me as I am new to setting up all of this gear and would appreciate some help with this. I have a Montage 8, Shure SM57 microphone, KRK-VST4 Monitors and a Voicelive 2 and a Scarlett18i8 Focusrite interface (Likely obsolete with Montage interface).

My main question is that I think I have the voice live connected correctly (midi out from Montage to midi in Voicelive and line out from Voicelive 2 to the Montage A/D input but I'm not sure what settings to use in the Montage. I'm not getting any Voicelive sound from the monitors? I will want to be able to record Voicelive and Montage using my PC DAW.

Thanks to all for your responses.
Bernie

Posted : 25/08/2016 5:08 pm
Rod
 Rod
Estimable Member

Hello Bernie - no help to you, I'm afraid, but I set up my Montage 7 to drive my Korg M3 over MIDI, and set up the Montage for MIDI rather than the USB default - but not a peep out of the Korg (which is also set up to receive). I hadn't got round to doing anything about it, so maybe someone can help us both.

Posted : 25/08/2016 7:11 pm
Bad Mister

Sorry, I'm not familiar with the Voice Live although I just read through the manual.

Try setting up the unit with just the Montage, no computer connected.
Get the unit working with Montage alone.

Set Montage MIDI I/O = MIDI
Set Montage Audio I/O = Line
The external unit wants you to transmit on MIDI channel 1
All of the factory Performances are set to transmit on channel 1
We assume the mic is plugged into the Voice Live device and you can get signal from there to the Montage.
Activate the A/D Input button on the Montage front panel.

Then once you have that working, let us know, and we can see about adding the computer DAW, next.
You will need to route MIDI Thru the computer to trigger the external device, but first ensure that it is working by connecting direct (no computer). Let us know.