Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Sound design ... is anyone using the AWM2 to create real Analog sounding patches

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hi there,

I’m still getting to grips with the Montage – I admit I am a real newbie but I have ears and can appreciate that it comes packed with some great sounds.

My question is regarding sound design. Is anyone out there using the AWM2 to program patches that sound analog and if so can you throw up some links to your work? Please do not direct me to professional sound libraries.

Admittedly I am just using the Montage’s stock patches at the moment and have not ventured further than adding an arp (still getting my head around things). It’s just that from the sounds I have heard so far, I am not sure the Montage is capable of ‘phat’ analog sounds.

Everything to my ears sounds pretty clean and digital, there just does not seem to be any rawness. Yesterday I used an ‘analog’ preset and I was a little underwhelmed as it was missing the warmth and additional harmonics expected from analog emulation.

The synth has been released for a couple of month and I’d be interested to hear from anybody who is actually using the synth for sound design and what they have achieved and think the machine is capable of in terms of the AWM2 engine + filters. I purposely am leaving out the FM2 engine until there is a tutorial available online as it’s too complicated for my level of experience currently.

Posted : 28/07/2016 12:10 pm
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Nice one Chris!! Really looking forward to checking this out 🙂

Posted : 29/07/2016 9:00 am
Hans-Peter

Hi Tyron,

My question is regarding sound design. Is anyone out there using the AWM2 to program patches that sound analog and if so can you throw up some links to your work? Please do not direct me to professional sound libraries.