Notifications
Clear all

Sustain Pedal Adjustment

15 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 Lynn
Topic starter

Hi. I'm brand new to the Montage - just received my White 8 last week! I'm loving the potential, but am not fully happy with the sustain for the CFX Concert. To me, it sounds like it not only adds reverb (a bit too much, imo) but also adds a touch of either delay or vibrato. I have already searched here and went into the settings (through utility) to match my FC4 to the pedal footswitch input.

Is there a way to adjust the parameters of the sustain pedal? Can I take out the delay and vibrato and a bit of the sustain. It makes the sound way to muddy for my style of playing. If there is a way, can someone talk me through it here so I don't have to keep searching through the manual and posts?

Thanks in advance!

Brahmb

PS I have already updated the OS to 3.0

Posted : 14/05/2020 10:36 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

Damper Resonance recreates the sound of strings vibrating sympathetically when the sustain pedal is used to lift the 'felts from the strings'.
Damper Resonance - Insertion Effect
This is an Insertion Effect algorithm that reproduces the rich harmonics and unique sound characteristics of an actual grand piano when using the damper pedal.
This effect algorithm intended for use with acoustic piano samples, can be applied to any sound (with varying results). However, when used on the acoustic piano Voices you can add a very realistic sound-board simulation effect which is related to your use of the sustain pedal.

Note: above uses dated terms, like "Voices", since it's copied from Motif documentation. Replace with "Parts" for this gen.

So you may want to turn this off. It's an insertion effect.