Notifications
Clear all

Using a Montage for one man performances

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello,

I'm a total keyboard newbie so please excuse my ignorance.

I'm looking for a synthesizer as a companion to a dedicated digital piano with the aim of being able to play and experiment with and to learn about all kinds of different music styles. My main priorities here are to have a wide range of good sounding instruments as well as the ability to play alone with no full band to accompany me.

I was originally looking at the MOXF or perhaps the Motif XF for this. I've seen some great demos of using the on board sequencer for quickly laying down, looping and effectively "layering" patterns for drums, basses and potentially other instruments to act as a backdrop to play the "main performance" against thus allowing you to create rich sounding music all on your own. At the same time I've also read and seen wonderful things about the greatly enhanced sonic and performance abilities of the Montage so it seems like a "no brainer" to prefer that over the Motif/MOXF... (Clarification: I know this is far from being a "no brainer" and they are different instruments for different purposes and all that. But my point being, if one likes the features of Montage, can it be made to "replace" the Motif/MOXF given the details below.)