Notifications
Clear all

A/D Input Instrument Recording to DAW via FW

6 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Trusted Member
Topic starter

I have a Motif XF with the Firewire Expansion connected to an iMac running Garageband(GB). i am new to using a DAW and am playing with GB before buying Cubase or Logic, With GB I can open a new track and record Motif voices from a performance easily. However I cannot record the A/D Input.

I have a Tyros 3 connected to the A/D Input and I am playing it from the Tyros Keyboard (GB doesn't have a way to return MIDI to the MIDI out of the Motif). So I hear the Tyros as part of the Motif Performance but cannot record the audio to GB.

In the Performance I have the A/D Output set to L&R. I tried a few of the FW pairs and not only did it not record but I could no longer hear the voice.

Can the A/D Input have its output set to L&R and have it record an audio track in the DAW?
or

Must i use a different buss and use one of the FW pairs or singles?

Or is this a GB issue?

Thanks

Posted : 19/02/2015 7:36 pm
Bad Mister

In the Performance I have the A/D Output set to L&R. I tried a few of the FW pairs and not only did it not record but I could no longer hear the voice.

When you remove a PART from the main L&R outputs and assign it to the Assignable Outputs it is removed from the system outputs - it then follows that of course you cannot hear it. This is the purpose of the "FW MONITOR SETUP" options. The "with PC" and "PC DRCT" options allow you to monitor items routed to the assignable FW outputs
Press [UTILITY]
Press [F2] I/O

Can the A/D Input have its output set to L&R and have it record an audio track in the DAW?
or

Must i use a different buss and use one of the FW pairs or singles?

Or is this a GB issue?

Yes.

Yes, you can have the A/D Input set to L&R and record it as audio to a DAW.
Yes, you can use any of the fourteen Assignable FW OUTPUTS and record those.
Yes, this is a GB issue. (We cannot give you support for GB here).