Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Sampling input source? Assistance required

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi there, I am a newbie on Motif XF and need a little assistance to understand how can we sample the sounds without using input source (A/D input or Microphone or CD). I have samples available on USB flash drive (in WAVE Format) and how can I use sampler to import them?
I am coming from Korg keyboards and much familiar their sampling structure but on Yamaha it seems slightly different. Also does anyone know if Motif can accept AKAI or SF2 format? Your assistance is much appreciated.

Thanks

Posted : 29/10/2015 9:28 pm
Bad Mister

Hi there, I am a newbie on Motif XF and need a little assistance to understand how can we sample the sounds without using input source (A/D input or Microphone or CD).

The Motif XF can "sample" (the act of recording audio for playback triggered with a MIDI Note-On) either through:
1) the A/D INPUT (mic/line)
or
2) FW-audio input (Audio signal from the IEEE1394 connector (available when the optional FW16E has been installed) is recognized as the recording source. The audio signal here is transmitted from the computer via FW Ports 3 and 4 - aka "FW L" and "FW R"
or
3) RESAMPLE (where all audio sources are available including the PARTs of Motif XF assigned to L/R , AD Input, and the FW Input.

The act of LOADING data from a USB drive is not considered "Sampling" - but rather importing audio data.

I have samples available on USB flash drive (in WAVE Format) and how can I use sampler to import them?

As long as the samples are stereo or mono, maximum 44.1kHz, 16-Bit (.wav or aiff format). Audio at that starts as a .wav or aiff is imported to a Motif XF Waveform. As many as 256 samples can exist in any single Waveform... there are 128 Notes (C-2 through G8) and each can house a stereo sample (128 x 2 = 256).

The process of importing a .WAV is a function of [FILE] > Set the TYPE = .Wav or AIFF as necessary.