5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Honzinus78
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hi,

I kinda need some help.

About two weeks ago I notice some distortion (or strange noise) when playing certain sounds on my MOXF. I've been playing MOXF through the same setup for 3 years and never noticed anything unusual before. This distortion is most audible with Pad sounds and I believe It's not part of analog simulation.
I changed cables, inputs and even listened through different speakers.. I still don't seem to figure out what it is...

I attached two samples. They were recorded through USB cable into Cubase and exported to high quality mp3.

Do these sample sound ok to you?

It seems like the distortion is triggered by certain volume levels. Maybe something resonates in my room.. I really don't know...:(

Thank you

Honzinus

Attached files

Pads.zip (1.3 MB) 

Posted : 27/02/2020 3:56 pm
Bad Mister

Unfortunately, you provide no real information that could lead you to a answer. As a few of the things one would need to know:

What Effects are in play on these sounds? - they are both heavily effected;
"Analog" mp3 -- certainly a Chorus, and a LPF that is almost completely closed, hardly any high harmonics
"Simple Air" mp3 -- sounds like a Phase Shifter, and again a very closed LPF, hardly any high harmonics

The lack of the high harmonics and the movement provided by the time delay effects causes some strange tricks on your ears - I do not necessarily hear distortion in the sense of crackling or the like.

When you recorded this to Cubase - did Cubase report any CLIPs (indicated by a red marker)? When you play audio with Cubase the meter provides you with a CLIP indicator, if, at anytime during playback you overload the channel a red bar will appear and remain (so even if you are not looking, you can know if you exceeded the recommended level). That would be more of indicator of trouble than anything else.