Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Do the Knobs only edit Common parameters in a voice, or also Element parameters?

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi im new to using keyboards for anything other than basic digital pianos. I'm making pretty good progress understanding things through tutorials / youTube vids but my head is swimming a bit..
Question: Do the Knobs only edit Common parameters in a voice, or do they also Element parameters?
I'm in Page 29 of the Operators Manual and am up to the bit on Element editing. I have tried tweaking the knobs while I have an element selected for editing. Im in a bit over my head here and just tried to see if anything changed on the LCD when I tweaked a knob or two, but when I do this the pop-up window appears which looks the same as when you tweak a voice live. Its fine by me if this is how it works but would appreciate it if anybody could confirm either way for me.

Thankyou Andrew D

Posted : 11/11/2014 7:53 am
Bad Mister

DO THE KNOBS ONLY EDIT COMMON PARAMETERS IN A VOICE, OR ALSO ELEMENT PARAMETERS?

It depends. Some of the KNOBS are controlling things that are "common" to all Elements within the Voice, and others can be assigned to affect "common" parameters or individual Element parameters, on a per Voice basis (these are the so called "ASSIGN 1" and "ASSIGN 2" Knobs.

There are 24 real time parameters available via the KNOB CONTROL area of the MOXF. Each has its own story - but you can group them into types for better understanding. Below is a discussion on how the KNOBs function within VOICE mode. (In other modes the role of the knobs changes slightly).

Lets take a look at them in groupings: