Notifications
Clear all

Flash Memory FL1024M

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Member Admin
Topic starter

Hi, I'm new to the MOXF (and synths in general) and wondering if I really need to the flash memory board or can I just load and play sound libraries from a USB key plugged into the MOXF? Thanks.

Posted : 29/03/2016 2:01 pm
Bad Mister

david wrote:

Hi, I'm new to the MOXF (and synths in general) and wondering if I really need to the flash memory board or can I just load and play sound libraries from a USB key plugged into the MOXF? Thanks.

Hi david, Welcome to Yamaha Synth!

The MOXF comes with 3,977 Waveform in the preset Wave ROM. A Waveform is a basic building block from which the sounds, called Voices, are constructed. In the very first synthesizers you were given just a handful of Waveforms from which sounds could be built. For example, my very first synth had just two Waveforms, a Sawtooth and a Pulse wave. From these two basic shapes I was able to build hundreds and hundreds of sounds.

Sawtooth waves are used to build strings and brass type sounds (bright and buzzy), while Pulse waves are used to built reeds, wooden, and nasal type sounds. In the classic analog synths you used filters and amplifiers to shape these Waveforms into playable sound. Sample based systems like the MOXF work in a similar fashion, but instead of using a voltage controlled circuit to make the basic waves, the MOXF starts with a digital recording of actual instruments and sound effects.