Notifications
Clear all

MOXF8 & Cubase Audio Mixdown Levels

11 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello everyone!

I am having two main issues when mixing and finishing recordings. Background: I am using a combination of midi parts from the MOXF8 and audio recordings of guitar through the A/D to record tracks into cubase.

Issue 1: When mixing the tracks on headphones (ATH‑M50) connected directly to the MOXF the mix sounds great. However, when I do an Audio Mixdown of the tracks the A/D parts will have either jumped up above the level of the MIDI parts or vice versa. I am not getting an accurate sound of the A/D parts vs MIDI parts in my headphones from the MOXF. I assume this has something to do with how I have my Master Volume and DAW Level sliders set while i'm mixing.

Issue 2: After I do an Audio Mixdown (both A/D and MIDI parts set to normal mixing volumes) the track volume is very low. I have been having to take that audio file created from the original Audio Mixdown and open it in cubase again just so I can scale the entire audio track up about 10-12 dBs.... This can't be normal.

Any help would be very much appreaciated. I feel like I am completely guessing on my mixing.

Thanks!

Posted : 15/12/2016 5:25 pm
Bad Mister

Your issue seems to be about knowing what you're monitoring and when to change how you're monitoring.

In mixing there is subjective and objective balancing of signals while monitoring. Subjective you are listening to the direct signal, this is done while recording - when you need to hear yourself (what you are playing now) louder than what's playing back from the DAW. The balance between your Live (incoming) signal and recorded signal is subjective. Done totally for your comfort. When mixing down you want to monitor everything through the (computer) system so you can get the true balance.

Let us know if you are using the MOXF as your audio interface so our instructions will apply to your situation.