Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

How to hear my MX61 through my Steinberg UR28M usb audio interface

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I'm just setting-up a new Windows PC with a Steinberg UR28M usb audio interface and I want to be able to hear the sounds of my Yamaha MX61 through the amp and speakers connected to the audio interface. I have installed Cubase also, but I'm not quite at the stage of getting to grips with it yet, so at this stage I just want to get the MX61 playing through the audio interface. Everything else from the PC (such as music, Youtube, etc) is playing via usb into the audio interface and then out of my amp and speakers. I have connected the MX61 to my PC via usb and I have installed the correct drivers. I am able to use the MX61 to play a Korg Legacy M1 on my computer, so midi info is clearly getting through, but not a peep out of the MX61 itself. I should explain, I'm a novice when it comes to all this kind of stuff, but I thought the MX61 usb connection was transmitting midi AND audio and so I was expecting the sounds from the MX61 to pass through my PC, out into the audio interface and then I would be able to hear it on my amp and speakers. I would really appreciate some help. Thanks.

Posted : 28/02/2018 9:25 pm
Bad Mister

The USB connection between the MX61 and the computer is digital (both MIDI and Audio) travel from the MX to the computer via the USB cable. Both signals are digital and are inaudible to humans. You will be using the MIDI signal, but not the digital audio... by selecting the UR28M as your audio interface, it will take analog audio in from the MX and convert it to digital for the computer.

You can't hear MIDI (it's just coded messages that represent a musical performance), you can't hear digital audio it's just zeroes and ones), you need to connect the Main L&R Outputs of the MX61 to your audio interface.