Clear all

My YC73 now has a friend or enemy?

32 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
david
Reputable Member
Topic starter

SKpro 73 just arrived. I flew through the presents as fast as possible.

I see what people have been saying as the rotary is far more dynamic and immersive when activated on the SKpro vs YC.

Surprisingly some of the "others" voices are really on par with Yamaha and very high end. I heard some stuff that stopped me in my tracks.

I'll have to spend a lot more time with it. The keys as I knew already are organ-ish by design because it's not trying to be a piano.

I like the Yamaha std weighted on 73 better but I didn't like the YC61 keys either.

Build quality looks really good but I haven't touched everything yet to see how solid it feels. I'm totally new to Hammond.

I'll compare them side by side to really get a feel for the wow factors vs the not so wow factors.

TBC....

Posted : 08/04/2021 4:18 am
david
Reputable Member
Topic starter

It's too early to tell but I think that the YC73 version with weighted keys and the SKpro with waterfall keys are actually different enough to keep both.

The SKpro is certainly a Swiss Army Knife of options. The sound quality is superb which I couldn't tell a thing from demo videos as we know.

I don't have the YC61 anymore but I prefer the SKpro action as it might be slightly more uniform and a tad stiffer. A little less toy-ish than YC61.

Organ players have their own opinions I'm sure. I'm still learning the interface but seems simple enough. I want to dive to see what's inside the options.

Posted : 09/04/2021 2:25 pm

With the current price of the SKPro - here in the UK - I think I would spend the same money on a YC61 -- together with a P121 and a Neo Vent 2, plus a Kenton MIDI USB Host.
(to link the P121 to the YC61)

That would give me:
• 61 note waterfall keyboard for organ
• 73 note weighted keyboard for pianos - (using the great YC61 piano voices).
• A best quality rotary sim