Notifications
Clear all

Backing up and editing Pattern data

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I actually have 2 questions.
1. I've done numerous full backups (.allmodx) on my MODX 8 and it has never backed up the pattern data I've recorded. Am I doing something wrong or does full backups not include Pattern data??

2. Does anyone know if there is currently, or will be in the near future, an app that allows you edit the Pattern data on a computer? I know I can play the MIDI into my Cubase 10.5 and edit the MIDI data there. Although I'm not sure how to get that data back into the Pattern section of the MODX? Also, Cubase has no way of editing Scenes etc. I'll admit I'm a bit spoiled because I've used John Melas's Mo-Tools for my previous Motif, MOFX and now MODX, but as of now he doesn't have an app nor plans on making one that I know of. An app that even just edits the data the way the MODX does would be wonderful. I'm a professional gigger and often perform solo. I have an enormous repertoire of Patterns/Scenes/Songs with accompaniment parts. Creating and Editing with a computer and mouse is so very much faster than bouncing around back and forth on screens on the MODX. Thanks in advance for any info.

Posted : 10/08/2020 6:42 pm
Bad Mister

1. I've done numerous full backups (.allmodx) on my MODX 8 and it has never backed up the pattern data I've recorded. Am I doing something wrong or does full backups not include Pattern data??

Song and Pattern data is saved when you set “Contents Type” = BACKUP FILE using the MODX to create the File to a USB stick plugged directly into the the MODX’s “To Device” Port. The MODX BACKUP FILE uses the extension .X8A
Contents of the MODX sequencer Folders (Song, Pattern) are backed up by the MODX in this file SAVE routine.