Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Modx with Cubase monitoring thru UR28m with analog inputs on UR28- need vsti like workflow setup

12 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Struggling here to set up MODX with cubase, first can someone confirm that my goal is possible as described.
little background -I am primarily a guitarist, I use a UR28M and use guitar plugins via Cubase for writing, I have used Halion and vsts with a casio controller in past no problem

I bought a modx7 and as a stand alone keyboard it's fantastic. total upgrade!

My goal is to be able to have a cubase project with midi channel for Piano/Bass/organ/strings/drums/ - each one being able to function in the same workflow i used with vsti - (they record and playback their individual instrument on individual tracks) while having my audio channel for guitar at same time. I am monitoring thru 3/4 input on UR28m with guitar going into preamp 1 of UR28m.

I've tried the examples found in this forum and not having much luck- the closest i've been is by using the modx connect - but i can't get the individual midi channels to monitor just their instrument during recording- ex. if i mute all tracks except bass track after midi is recorded , i hear just bass ( this is good) But.. in this state when i press a key on modx or record, i hear ALL the instruments at same time in modx performance- ( bad) i have tried "midi rec on daw" and all setings

Input routing: "all midi inputs"
Output: "Modx1"
Channel: "7"

Do i have to have the MODX audio tracks? i would just like to send midi to modx and then use monitor/mute record like a vsti.

I've check out Dom Sigalas's setting up daw video - but he is using modx for interface - i cant do that as i need guitar preamp via UR28m
the video of him using cubasis is a good example of what I would like to be able to do - but- with guitar audio input at same time, and i dont have cubasis or IPAD
I tried setting up external device but modx is not llisted as a option