Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

MODX/Montage Zones With USB Midi

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I seemingly have an unusual use for usb midi that no one else does. As a solo church musician I often split the keyboard with bass up to C3 and another instrument such as piano, organ ep etc from c#3 and up. On the moxf8 in master mode, I could turn off an external switch for the keyboard range of the bass part. The reason I need this is so that if I'm using a vst such as ravenscroft, truekeys, neosoul keys etc, the piano part isnt layered on top of the bass. I've read through the portion of the manual for zone settings but no matter what I do, whatever vst I'm using plays on the entire keyboard range. Just in case I'm not clear...I want to set up 2 zones/parts using the internal sound (bass) for zone 1 and zone 2 for use with a vst. I'm beginning to think there's no solution for the modx/montage. A solution would be much appreciated.

Posted : 06/12/2018 4:09 am
Stefan

From what I understand from your question, this is a very common setup and one where the MODX / Montage really shine. You have to set your MODX to "Zone Master on" in the Utility -> Advanced screen. Then for each part in each performance you have a new sub tab in the "Part Settings" tab. Switch the zone on, switch the Int(ernal) Sw(itch) to off so that that zone does not drive your MODX but only the VST. Set the Transmit Channel to that of your VST and you should have what you need. For the other part you can also enable the zone and set the Transmit Channel to off. This is stored with every performance so you are very flexible!

Posted : 06/12/2018 6:26 am
Bad Mister

Just in case I'm not clear...I want to set up 2 zones/parts using the internal sound (bass) for zone 1 and zone 2 for use with a vst. I'm beginning to think there's no solution for the modx/montage. A solution would be much appreciated.

Well, it’s good you posted a question—the solution is fairly simple.