Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Need help with MODX, Cubase AI Elements, Scarlett 6i6 interface, Mac/Yosemite- and I do have a simple question too!

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

MODX with Cubase AI Elements, Scarlett 6i6 interface, Mac Yosemite.
Hi, I'm new to Yamaha (and Cubase, and Scarlett!). I am not getting sound in Cubase (trying to multi-track there using Yamaha sounds). It looks like a routing nightmare, so for now,
I am just wondering if there is a way to save sequencer tracks as WAV files, so for now I could simply save the songs I compose in the Yamaha and export them to a thumb-drive, and place them in my DAW of choice (which is Reason 10 actually!). Is this possible? Otherwise, I will kindly pay anyone who will take the time to help me get Cubase set up properly! someone said not to use the Scarlett (dont mean if they meant in routing or what) but that would be not great if I am unable to use the Scarlett interface. I realize the MODX has an interface built in, which may confuse the situation even more. I appreciate any help whatsoever. Thanks!

Posted : 30/10/2018 4:12 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

Yes, you can record audio on MODX then transfer it to your Mac using a thumb drive.

1) First, stick a USB 2.0 thumb drive into MODX's "TO DEVICE" USB port.
2) Below superknob are buttons. Press the record button (1st column, 2nd row - has a filled-in circle as the icon). This is a shortcut to the Performance Recorder
3) Select the "Audio" tab to record audio
4) If the record button is not flashing (red), press the record button again - then press the play button (2 buttons to the right of the record) to start recording. You can also set a trigger level so you must start playing before the recording starts.

There is more information here: https://youtu.be/x9kyWVo4UPM?t=539

It is a video for Montage, but should apply equally to MODX.