Notifications
Clear all

Question on backing up user files

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 John
Topic starter

Hello, this is my first post and I want to start by saying how impressed I am with the depth of knowledge here. I would be completely in the dark without this forum. I've learned a lot from you guys over the past few months, so a big thank you! But I am fairly new to this instrument and have a lot to learn.

I have the MODX7. It's my first Yamaha. Wonderful instrument, just starting to perceive the depth of it. Love the sounds and the ability to combine sounds. Still trying to get used to the narrow keys, but that's a minor complaint.

Okay, I want to update the OS to 2.52. I've read through the procedure and backed up my user data to a flash drive. I did an experiment by changing a parameter in one of my user performances, renaming it, and saving it. Then I restored the data from my flash drive to see if it would restore that performance to its original condition. It did. So far, so good.

What concerns me is when I plug the flash into my desktop to view the contents, it shows it as an X8A file, but its size is only 704 kb. Granted, I only have maybe 20 user performances and all of them have only minor tweaks, but this seems like a very small number and I'm afraid I did something wrong when I created the backup. If the backup only backs up the tweaks and not the entire original performance, I guess maybe it could be about right? Still seems awfully small, though.

I'm terrified that I'll lose all the hours I've put into these performances. Any insights will of course be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Posted : 05/03/2021 12:35 am
Bad Mister

Hi John,
Welcome to YamahaSynth!

Not to worry, that sounds about right. When it comes to data size Waveforms can be absolutely huge, the Performance and Part parameters that are used to shape the Waveforms into playable programs are tiny in comparison.