Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Analog vs FM : is there really a difference?

19 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
16.1 K Views
Jason
Illustrious Member

You can release audio recordings which contain purchased sound libraries. The earlier warning was not to release the library or portions of it as an X7L, X7U, or X7A file.

Recording your work to an audio cloud site, uploading a WAV recording of your composition, or creating a youtube (or similar video cloud service) is fair use.

Even better if you credit the sound libraries (company, library name) in the description - although not required.

Posted : 15/08/2017 1:32 pm

Rod wrote:

Hello Mitchell - as a rank amateur, I'd say yes, there is a difference. Analog has warmth and depth and atmosphere, FM is bright and hard and clean. Messy old Nature and clinical Mathematics. I know real experts can make either sound like the other - but why? It's like coffee-flavoured tea - not much point unless you only have access to one of them. Montage has both, and offers a very simple blending system - a little experiment quickly shows the differences and what they can do for one another.

Hi, FM is indeed mostly known for bright and clean sounds, but if you examine some of the most analog sounding patches on my beloved SY99 or TG77 then they are more often than not made by AFM (Advanced FM) through the SY's filter!

Posted : 19/08/2017 1:50 pm
Eminent Member
Topic starter