Notifications
Clear all

Drum Arpeggios

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 Jeff
Topic starter

Hello everyone. I'm a beginner when it comes to setting up drum arpeggios. I know how to assign drums to a performance and setup up to 8 arpeggios to a part and how to select between them in realtime using the buttons on the montage.

What I'd like to do is setup "transitions". Say I'm playing a tune in the AABA 32 bar form. For this example let's say arpeggio 1 is verse, arpeggio 2 is bridge, and arpeggio 3 is fill. So after I play the first 7 bars I want to play arpeggio 3 for 1 bar then return to arpeggio 1. Then once I finish playing the second A section I want a fill then play the bridge arpeggio. If I'm playing piano with two hands this can be tricky to be fast enough (at least for me). Is there a way to automate such transitions?

The alternate approach that I can think of is setup arpeggios 1-8 in the order I intend to play them and step through using a foot switch. Is this the standard approach that most people use?

Another approach could be using the record function or DAW to preprogram a drum track.

How do most of you setup using drum arpeggios?

Cheers.

Posted : 26/10/2016 5:09 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

I always used ARP SELECT 1-8 to switch between them. Since you can assign arp transition to the measure, this gives you some slack in when you have to press the ARP 1-8 button before you would miss the natural transition point.

I do hear you about the desire for automation - I'm sure there's something. A little pressed for time to look it up at the moment.

Posted : 26/10/2016 11:48 pm
Bad Mister