Clear all

Envelope Follower

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 Lynn
Topic starter

Hi.

Every time I try to get to the Enverlope Follower tutorial, I receive a 404 error. Perhaps you can answer my question directly.

If using the A/D can control the playback tempo of the Montage (ie through a drummer), can you have a Pattern or Song on the Montage follow your live playing? In other words, can I create a backing track and have it trigger when I start playing and follow my tempo as I play? Say by using Envelope Follower can it sense the tempo from my left hand and follow what I'm playing live?

Not sure if any or all of this is possible. I'm new to the programming aspect of Yamaha synths. I can create a pattern or songs, but know little of these other matters - I've been a snorkler for 15 years and am finally ready to take the plunge...but I can't access some of the tutorials from a search of the Forums....

Posted : 29/05/2020 3:04 am
Jason
Illustrious Member

I believe what you're referring to, in having the tempo sync to an external audio source, is "audio beat sync".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRlgglsj7i0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehIYqP7Ti64

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UK5YiCLr44
(turn on CC and auto translate for your locale)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ryjCucgYjYA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmpiGVmlhJg (part 1 for good measure)

BTW: The "Mastering Montage" series has received a facelift, updating for the newer firmware. Which is great - but it broke all the old links that are still hanging around here. Go here for the latest "Mastering Montage" series roundup: https://yamahasynth.com/synths/montage-article-roundup-os-v3

That page would be great if the links worked - but they're mostly goofed with 404 errors. And this must have been done recently since google hasn't caught up and indexed the new pages yet.

Here's the new page to the envelope follower article: https://yamahasynth.com/synths/mastering-montage-envelope-follower-video