Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Has anyone bought a Montage 6 and wished they bought a 7?

20 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes

Years ago I went all out and got a Motif ES8. Weighed a ton. Great board of course, but I realized 61 was perfect for me, especially with the octave button + -. My next board was a MoX6. Did not miss the extra keys for a second. Now I have a Montage 6 and it's excellent for me. I'm not a deep programmer type, or pro synth player. I'm a multi instrumental guy Vocals, Guitars, bass, Drums and Keys for my recordings and it's just what I want and need.

Recent lyric video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrW5ZTH2xew

Posted : 11/04/2018 9:28 pm
studio460
Topic starter

Just to update the thread—I've had my Montage 7 for a few weeks now, and I really like it. Cosmetically, I think it's the best-looking of the three where the front-panel seems in balance with the keybed. Although the smaller 61-key would've allowed me to set my Roland JD-XA right next to it on the second-tier, I've been using the Montage 7 as my "main" keyboard lately, so the 76 keys really do improve playability. So my advice for anyone who's still on the fence, go for the 7 if at all possible.

Posted : 15/04/2018 8:15 am
 Tom
Trusted Member

Hi
My First Montage was a M7.
and. I did love having the extra keys.
There are however some constant drawbacks to buying any. 73/76 key over a 61 Key.
The Montage 6 has. Just slightly Wider key spacing than the M7. (It might only be 1/32 of an inch.) But it is a big plus to me.
Splits/zones and Octave button. A 76 is great. if You do not want to deal with this approach. But most keyboard players.
Adapt very quickly to these. Workaround functions. And therefore never miss having a 76 key.
RESALE Value.
While the New price of any 76 key is Big $ compared to a 61 key model.
However. The resale value of 61 key verses a 76 key (Most brands.)