Notifications
Clear all

Overdub problem PLEASE HELP

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello,

I'm totally new to keyboards and recording in general, but I understand the basic concepts (very basic). I've searched threads for the problem I'm having, and the very problem seems to be addressed but I simply do not understand the answers given. The language is either too complex or there is just something that my brain is not comprehending somehow. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. Here is the problem.

Ok, so I recorded a short piano part. That part went fine. But when I tried adding a second track for overdub, there was no overdub option, nor a punch in/out option. I am NOT hitting the record button so that it starts a new song. I recorded the first track, then hit the "Home" button, which took me to the page with 8 possible parts. I hit the "+" button to add another part. I then hit "Play/Rec" so that I'm not starting a new song. I think hit the actual record button, which brings up the "Rec Type" box. I click on that box, and then instead of three options, there is only one option. I can only "Replace," which is obviously not what I want to do.

I've tried greying out the little keyboard icon on the first track (no idea what that even does), along with various other things. I've tried starting from scratch multiple times, turning off the thing and turning it back on. Nothing is working, I can only "Replace." I'm following exactly what this guy is doing apart from setting a loop, which I can't imagine should matter: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alTBPfkUTLU Clearly, what I'm trying to do is possible, but SOMETHING is just wrong. And of course the owner's manual has nothing to say on how to overdub, but as I mentioned I don't even have the Punch In/Out option available to me.