Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Split and Layer function

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I am still new to Montage and i own a Kronos and i love how my Kronos has a split and layer button that will quickly do this job, does the Montage have something similar to this or what is the easiest method?

Posted : 03/04/2018 6:10 pm
Tommy
Eminent Member

Hi. If you have a Performance chosen and there are empty channel slots, just press the + symbol in one, and you will be immediately taken to a screen where you choose your layer sound! You can also, from there, choose the type of sound, or the Bank it is in, if you want to. After the 2nd sound is selected, you tell the Montage which note range you want it to be on the channel strip(s) it/themself (That's if you desire a SPLIT. If you desire a LAYER, you're done.) And already on the screen are channel faders to Balance the Layer. Take note -there may be more than one channel strip for the new sound you have chosen. Each will have its own Channel volume fader. More flexibility this way.

Posted : 03/04/2018 8:09 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member
Bad Mister

JOSUE wrote:

I am still new to Montage and i own a Kronos and i love how my Kronos has a split and layer button that will quickly do this job, does the Montage have something similar to this or what is the easiest method?

you can create a Layer as quick as you can think about it.

It requires you master one skill: Category Search - which will help find the specific sounds you want to work with. Here's a step-by-step that will show you the basic concepts:

Recall "CFX Stage" - a single Part Performance.

Touch the "+" in Part 2 to search for a Layer Part
You are taken to the CATEGORY SEARCH "Performance Merge" screen
You can refine your search by Bank, Attribute, Source Part
Touch a program, you have created a Layer.