Notifications
Clear all

Upgrade Policy

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 Mark
Topic starter

I think it is wonderful that the developers at Yamaha continue to improve workstations. I really don't know why any hobbyist would ever buy one, though. I bought an MOX6, which I really like, but within a couple months the MOXF6 came out. Now the whole Motif line will be out of date. If I was a pro I might afford a new board, but it too will be almost worthless within a few months. I think a lot more sales would be there if there was some kind of upgrade program. Will there ever be one?

Posted : 15/01/2016 9:53 pm
Nate
 Nate
Member Admin

Hi Mark

Thanks for your question, it's an interesting one.

Some of this exists in the way of firmware updates and content. For example, the MotifXF had a firmware update that added an entirely new set of HD reverbs and guitar effects for free. There have also been many free sets of content available. In fact, we just announced Soundmondo for the reface keyboards that has over 1500 free sounds (as of right now.)

In terms of being able to upgrade your existing hardware and add (or maybe even subtract) functionality, it's an intriguing idea. Thanks for sharing your opinion!

Posted : 16/01/2016 2:31 pm
 Zack

I agree and was also thinking of the same thing. I just got my MOXF6 over the holidays and I hear of Montage this and that. I too am a hobbyist and not a pro. πŸ™‚

Posted : 16/01/2016 5:20 pm
Tommy
Eminent Member

It's also about learning how to use your own current instrument - the one you've committed to by buying it - to its fullest, not always having the newest. There is often a lot of power locked away, hidden capabilities, tricks to make it do more, much of it never to be found by a user who keeps changing synths.
....But the newest ones can be very tempting, especially when we know so little about one! We'll know more in less than a week.

Posted : 17/01/2016 2:37 am
 Saul