Clear all

using the yamaha montage along with the korg kronos

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 Gary
Topic starter

i see many comparisons "montage vs kronos" on the web and on you tube
Has anyone explored using the two keyboards together or is that redundant?
Thanks in advance to anyone who has made the best of combining these two great instruments

Posted : 08/08/2017 10:30 pm
 Jeff

I had a Kronos when they first came out and it sounded great with lots of lovely features but the 2min+ boot up time and lots of stories of freezing during live performance, requiring a re-boot, meant that I never felt comfortable using it live.

That being said, it never froze on me during the 18 months I used it in my studio.

Also, it had a built in audio interface that I intended to use as my on stage outputs, as I now do with the Montage, but no ASIO driver! When I queried that with Korg they told me that if I was a serious musician I'd be using a Mac and wouldn't need ASIO!

I sold it and will NEVER buy a Korg product again.

Perfectly happy with my Jupiter-80, Montage 6 and PC laptop running Cantabile Performer 3 with lots of great sounding soft synths (I'd be lost without Omnisphere 2 and Halion Sonic 3),

Posted : 08/08/2017 11:22 pm
Rod
 Rod
Estimable Member

Hello Gary - not a Kronos, but I do have a Korg M3-73 coupled to my Montage (and a Tyros 3 for good measure), and whereas there are almost limitless sound combinations and possibilities I find I gravitate to the Montage alone most of the time. The reason for that is that the Montage is an incredible synthesiser - which is my main interest - and no matter what combined sounds can be created (and there are plenty of those!) you can't do anything with them - they can't be saved or recorded easily without a ton of external gear. So whereas I love both the M3 and the Tyros for different reasons, I don't think I would have bought them if I had had a Montage to begin with.

Posted : 09/08/2017 8:23 am
 Kurt

Hello