Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

How could Motif XF be used for live performing with "recorded" Cubase songs as backup?

10 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

With such a long sync time every time I open a project in cubase ai (usb connection, no firewire port in my laptop), how could my xf be used for live performing with recorded midi as a backup? Do all songs have to be mixed down to an audio file? I'm new to xf and midi "recording". Thanks!

Posted : 16/11/2015 9:06 pm
Bad Mister

If you're talking a long time to sync your Motif XF and Cubase, we have to ask why? What's the hold up. We can understand the very first time, you need to configure your setup, but after that your setup should be memorized and return each time. You don't mention an audio interface so perhaps that's the issue.

If you have no audio interface, you cannot use Export Audio Mixdown to create a wav. You will be forced to playback MIDI from Cubase to your XF.

Did you know you can open multiple Song Projects in Cubase? Simply activate the one you want to play. For tips and tricks on working Cubase fully see the DOCUMENTATION that comes with it and take advantage of the support at Steinberg.net

Posted : 17/11/2015 11:44 am
Topic starter

why do I need an audio interface when the motif xf has usb for midi? which is heavily advertised by Yamaha and retailers as a 'good thing'!

everytime I open a new project or change settings on the motif from voice to song mode or whatever, a ridiculously long sync is initiated. thus, my original question (which remains unanswered, but ..thanks?)

I've read the documentation and if I could find the answer there, I would not be asking questions here!

that's right, you said maybe not having an audio interface is my problem. So you don't know or have anything helpful or informative to say, but again...thanks? :-/

Posted : 19/11/2015 12:34 am
Topic starter