Notifications
Clear all

Motif ES8 and Pro Tools 12

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello,

I didn't see my type of keyboard in the drop down, but I'm using a Yamaha Motif ES8. I am new to DAWs and after many years, just sitting down to be serious with my Motif ES8. My question is, I am currently using Pro Tools. I have 16 tracks of course on my Motif. How do I assign track 1 of my Motif to (a midi and audio track) I create in Pro Tools; track 2 on the Motif to the second set of midi and audio tracks I create in Pro Tools, etc. Do I need any external equipment (such as a Midi interface) so that I can "link" channels from my Motif to the I/O settings of each track in Pro Tools?

Please explain in layman terms...again, I'm new to all of this.

This is why I ask. If I attempt to create a midi track in Pro Tools and then create an audio track to record the audio for the midi events I created using my Motif, I get both midi instructions from my keyboard (on the midi track) and the voice/audio (on the audio track) that I want to use in Pro Tools. Then I can edit the midi, if I want....then playback/record new audio for the audio track and I get a great combo of tracks with one voice...say, a saxophone.

But the problem is, when I try to use a second and/or different voice in the Motif...say, a snare drum. When I attempt to follow the same procedure above, the second midi track I create is somehow recording the same midi events from the FIRST midi track. And when I create a new audio track to pair with the second midi track, I hear both the saxophone AND the snare drum. Sounds horrid.