Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

saving a performance setting?

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi - I'm very new to this, so apologies in advance if this is an obvious question.

How do I save performance settings? I've modified one of the performances, and I don't see a way to save my work.

I did read the manual, but I only see ways to save individual voices.

Thanks so much.

Posted : 23/04/2020 6:05 pm
Bad Mister

First, you must press [STORE] to store your Performance to the User Performance Bank.
“Store“ is the act of writing the changes to the MOXF’s internal memory.

“Save“ is the act of writing the MOXF data to a USB stick for long term storage.

Only the “Stored“ data gets “Saved”.

You do not Save a single Performance. Performance data is a set of “pointers” — they point to Voices that are already in memory. A Performance is made up of as many as four Voices, that are either Preset or User Voices.

Say you have a Performances made up of Preset 1, Voice 001 “Full Concert Grand” in Part 1. And an edited User Voice you made that is stored in User 2, Voice 128 named “Becka’s Pad”. The Performance memorizes the locations of the Voices, not the actual data — it *points to* the locations. In addition you can apply *offsets* — for example, you might raise or lower the octave of one or both of the Parts (the Performance allows you offset parameters with destructively changing the original Voice. This way “Full Concert Grand” and “Becka’s Pad” can be used in other Performances tuned differently, or setup as a Split.

If you were to replace User 2, Voice 128, (By loading in a different set of User Voices) the Voice now in that location would serendipitously replace your original in the Performance.