Notifications
Clear all

Seeing what bar / beat you are up to in Performance mode

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi,

I'm relatively new to paying with any sort of drums. I am playing around with assigning drums to a voice (therefore entering performance mode).

My problem is that sometimes I get a bit lost as to what beat I'm on and I find it hard to recover confidently without stopping playing and re-feel the beat, and sometimes even having to re-trigger the arps afresh.

In record mode you get a counter on the LCD but I cant find any way of getting one when in straight out performance mode.

Any suggestions / tips? At this stage it seems I would just need to get really familiar with the arps as a backstop of knowing where I'm at - but this seems pretty limiting as the MOFX is all about trying new ideas.

Thanks, Andrew.

Posted : 18/11/2014 2:25 pm
Ave
 Ave

The only solution I can come up with is using "Direct Performance Record" to put your performance in a pattern or song with a beat/bar reference.
You would also gain the ability to change the tempo.
Let us know how it works out.

Ave

Posted : 18/11/2014 8:03 pm
Topic starter

Thanks Ave, thats the only way I could find too. I will try it a bit more but because it automatically takes you out of record mode into song mode when you stop playing I am worried it will take me on a merry ride in a live situation.

Do you know if this is a standard feature on other keyboards?

Posted : 19/11/2014 1:15 am
Garry

Hi Andrew,

CopyPerfParm On/Off switch On to copy performance settings to song/pattern mode (very useful)
KeyOnStart On/Off switch on to sync recording with your first key press.. easier that using a count in 😉 .
Performance->Rec->Other->MoveToRecMode On/Off Switch it OFF

I always have this set to off so I can make multiple passes at recording (without leaving performance mode) until I have the take I want.
Then I switch to song/pattern mode when Im happy.

When in song/pattern mode,