Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

MX49 and Linux KXStudio

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi. I'm new to Yamaha and picked up the MX49 to realize a dream of owning a fully functioning midi controller/synth/keyboard and I'm stoked. Well, almost...

While hooking up to my Linux computer my DAW (Ardor) sees the MX49 but the Yamaha doesn't see my DAW. I seriously need this to happen as I am not buying in to Cubase when I have full functionality in open source community. Drivers? Is that my problem-drivers??

Does anyone have experience with an MX series or other Yamaha product that grooves with Linux operating systems?

Posted : 21/07/2015 10:53 pm
Bad Mister

While hooking up to my Linux computer my DAW (Ardor) sees the MX49 but the Yamaha doesn't see my DAW. I seriously need this to happen as I am not buying in to Cubase when I have full functionality in open source community. Drivers? Is that my problem-drivers??

Not sure how you are determining that the MX49 "doesn't see" your DAW.

Yamaha has developed drivers for Windows and Macintosh operating systems. It is the driver's responsibility to translate the multiple ports of MIDI data, and 2-in/2-out Audio (ASIO) via the USB connection. Those who live in the full functionality of the open source community are probably used to being the third party on the date. 🙂 Sorry, I've seen posts on the internet where Linux folks have coded their way around the lack of Linux specific drivers.

The driver that Yamaha recommends for Windows and Macintosh is called the "Yamaha Steinberg USB Driver" it includes both a MIDI and an Audio component for communication via USB.

You may have to search online for others in your situation... There are several who have found a way around this... Try Steinberg.net, or wherever Linux users tend to meet.

Hopefully, other users of Linux will see your post and come to the rescue.

Posted : 24/07/2015 4:13 pm

Bad Mister wrote: