Notifications
Clear all

Playing Live with MX61 - Fast Recall of Voice layers

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 John
Topic starter

I am new to MX61. Love the sounds. How do I just use it for basic live playing without midi, arp, or other automation? I need to be able to quickly switch between a list of about 20 voices. Ideally i would like to be able to layer or split some of the voices.

Since i can only play 2 voices per performance, does that mean i need to build 20 performance? When navigating through the categories on the front panel it always seems to go back to voice 001. I cannot scroll every time i am selecting a specific voice between songs. it's got to be one button programming.

Thanks!

Posted : 26/06/2015 2:35 pm
Bad Mister

Each Program in the MX is a Performance and can have 16 sounds pre-arranged for fast access.
Press the button labeled [PART SELECT]
This places you in a situation where your numbered front panel button allow to acces the 16 PARTS you have selected for the current Performance.
Each Performance can recall a different arrangement of 16 Voices.

To play a particular Voice touch the numbered button [1]-[16]
Once you've selected a PART use the DOWN CURSOR arrow to view its various settings.
You can switch between Parts seamlessly (with no sound cutoff).

If you need more than one Part on a MIDI Channel (ie, to create splits or layers on a particular MIDI Channel, you'll need to get a third party EDITOR).

Posted : 26/06/2015 4:04 pm
 John
Topic starter

Thank you very much for the quick reply. I assumed I should be able to manage the Performance voices as you have described pressing [Part Select] then the Part Button [1-16]. But when i do this, it shows the first voice in the Category, not the voice i thought was assigned to the Part. I was struggling with this last night and early this morning trying to get everything setup for my first show with it (tomorrow). I will try again tonight.