Notifications
Clear all

QUESTION RE: MODX PATTERN SEQUENCER AND CUBASE

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Eminent Member
Topic starter

I'm currently studying all things "MODX Pattern Sequencer" and have a basic question:

Question: Is it possible to create patterns (4/8 bar MIDI tracks, etc.) in Cubase, and them port them over into the MODX sequencer (via MODX Connect, or perhaps as a .MIDI file)?

Note: I have successfully imported trial sequence patterns into Cubase 12 from my MODX via MODX connect, and am familiar with Blake's excellent article on this process.

Reason: No slight at all to the MODX, but my preferred "environment" for sequencing and generating ideas is in Cubase, and in fact, I would like to do the sequencing using the MODX as a mutl-timbral "module" so to speak.

The other reason is that these patterns would be set up as "live jams" which my band would play along with in a live setting.

Thanks in advance for any guidance on this! 🙂

Posted : 13/02/2023 4:39 pm
Dragos
Eminent Member

[quotePost id=120347]I'm currently studying all things "MODX Pattern Sequencer" and have a basic question:

Question: Is it possible to create patterns (4/8 bar MIDI tracks, etc.) in Cubase, and them port them over into the MODX sequencer (via MODX Connect, or perhaps as a .MIDI file)? [/quotePost]
The easiest way I found is to just *record* it with the Pattern Sequencer.
The process is described here (together with a bug and its workaround):
https://www.yamahasynth.com/forum/recording-midi-from-daw-into-pattern-sequencer-missing-first-note

You can also put MIDI files onto an USB stick and then load them into MODX, but recording is just much direct and also faster.

Posted : 14/02/2023 10:35 am
Eminent Member
Topic starter